Looking for equipment in St Paul, MN - I'm a total newb to this

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by jmkeuning, Dec 6, 2017.

1. jmkeuning

jmkeuning New Member

Get to the punch line: I am in St Paul, MN and want to start listening to records. I am starting from zero. Can you help me find some stuff on Craigslist? I figure my budget is about $1000 to get started, but that within the year I might double or triple that.

Less useful information about why I am here:

I've always been enamored of vinyl; the sound and the tangibility of the thing. I've also always really enjoyed great-sounding equipment. But I've never pursued those two interests in my life. I am ready to do that.

I was reading some comments by a guy who died recently. He knew he was dying, and he wrote a letter to be read after his death. One of the things that stood out to me was "buy the best speakers you can afford." That has been gnawing at me.

Another change in my life has me wanting to listen to music and spend some time and money making that happen. I mention at the top that I am interested in used equipment. I live in a very old house, and those old consoles would look really cool, but I am not opposed to new equipment.

AnthonyI likes this.
  2. HiFi Guy

HiFi Guy Well-Known Member

Welcome! There's actually some really decent stuff on CL in your area.

I love these speakers- I sold them back in the day. Make sure you get a demo that both the woofer and tweeter work. ADS made great speakers but are out of business. $350

https://minneapolis.craigslist.org/hnp/ele/d/ads-810-speakers/6388628862.html

This is a seperate preamp and power amp. 60 watts per channel. Way better than any new amp for $245.

https://minneapolis.craigslist.org/hnp/ele/d/adcom-quality-535-pwr/6399991841.html

That leaves enough money for a new UTurn Orbit Custom with acrylic platter, Grado cartridge and cue lever. $349