Turntable Recommendations

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by ReasonableMan, Apr 20, 2017.

1. ReasonableMan

ReasonableMan New Member

Hello,
    I am new to the group and wanted to get some opinions on a new turntable. I have to admit that I don't know much about the turntables or their set up. I've been using the same set up for several years and have finally be able to afford to upgrade my set up and wanted to start with the turntable.

The rest of my set up includes:
    - Sanyo 4 Channel Stereo Receiver DCX3300K A
    - 2 SVS Prime Satellite Speakers

I would love to see what people think. I am also curious what peoples opinions are on the stereo. It was my dad's old stereo that he gave me a long time ago.

Thanks

blujay likes this.
  2. blujay

blujay Well-Known Member

Got a budget in mind?

ReasonableMan likes this.
  3. ReasonableMan

ReasonableMan New Member

I don't think I want to spend more than $500

4. Corycm

Corycm Well-Known Member

Sounds like you've got a good start. Those silver face models are always popular receivers. Those speakers might be a little thin around the middle (just my experience with home theater speakers) but will be just fine to get started with.

There's more than a few threads started on picking out a turntable - even on this page. I'd recommend taking a peek through them for some ideas (there's been some good ones over the past couple weeks) to get an idea of the budget. That Sanyo has a phono in, but not sure how good it is. So you're definitely looking at a turntable (with cartridge) and maybe a phono stage. Depends on your budget.

Anything in mind yet, models or features?

5. ReasonableMan

ReasonableMan New Member

I will definitely take a look through some of the other threads. As I said, I don't know too much about turntables. I do think I would like to go with a belt drive table. Other than that, I'm open to anything.

Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  6. Corycm

Corycm Well-Known Member