My next step.....and Hello.

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by haimez40, Oct 23, 2018.

1. haimez40

haimez40 Member

Hello! Long time lurker, first time poster.

Here is my current system:
    Turntable: Audio Technica LP120
    Cartridge: Acutex 312mkII STR
    Speakers: Cerwin Vega RE 25
    PreAmp: N/A (built in)
    Amp: Pioneer SX-3700
    Cables: built in from LP120
    Accessories: Carbon Fiber Static Brush, Velvet Brush/Stylus Cleaner, AT Brush Pad, MoFi Sleeves.

So I am fairly new to the game and using a lot of thrown together equipment I acquired via my family resources and past systems. My girlfriend and I bought the AT LP120 to gauge our interest back into the analog world. As expected I am now addicted and looking to expand my experience. We listen to mostly classic rock and hip hop, but we are all over the place really with my collection. I am getting ready to make some new purchases and since my set up is all over the place thought I would ask this group because I really have enjoyed going through the forum posts. Lets just say my current budget for this move is in the $1,500-2,000 range.

In my opinion my next step would be new speakers. I recently was at a local shop and heard the B&W 606 and really liked them but was curious how they stack verse other new speakers out today at that price point. I know I can get used KEF LS50 similar prices on ebay. I'm not married to bookshelf but just started looking around and in St Louis here there isn't a lot of Hifi stores to demo things. In my recent trip I liked those 606s for the price and clarity at that specific stop ($800). Since I do listen to a fair amount of hip hop a sub would be added eventually. Haven't really looked into subs much but heart Martin Logan is a good value for subs?